Venue Cell Block Theatre
Export | Feedback | Map | Print
Other Names East Sydney Technical College
National Art School
Address Forbes Street
Darlinghurst NSW 2010
First Date 1960
Notes Cell Block Theatre is a grand historic space in the heart of Sydney. Inside, the 10 metre high sandstone walls create the awed ambiance of a cathedral, an ambiance intriguingly inflected by its history as the women’s wing of the old Darlinghurst Gaol.
Related Venues
Latitude | Longitude -33.879529 | 151.218115

Festival of Sydney

Dance Exchange

The Australian Elizabethan Theatre Trust

Biennale of Sydney

Margaret Barr Dance - Drama Group

Shopfront Theatre

The Arts Council of Australia (New South Wales Division)

The Performance Space

Access Arts

Australian Broadcasting Commission

Australian Dance Theatre

Australian Theatre for Young People (ATYP)

Busy Bodies Theatre Of Dance

Cladan Cultural Exchange Institute of Australia

Ian Tasker and Associates

International Theatre Research Group

Joan Halliday School of Dance

Ministry For Education and Culture Croatia

New South Wales Department of Education


PACT Youth Theatre

Proscenia Theatre

Sydney University Law Students

The Group Theatre

The New South Wales Theatre of the Deaf

The Newman Association

The Principal Complex

University of New South Wales

Wildfire Theatre Company

Zagreb Theatre Company

Russell Dumas - Performer, Choreographer, Dancer

William Schwenck Gilbert - Book and Lyrics, Playwright, Librettist

Lucy Guerin - Dancer, Performer

Margie Medlin - Lighting Designer, Performer

Arthur Seymour Sullivan - Composer

Margaret Barr - Director

Grahame Bond - Writer, Composer, Actor

Errol Bray - Director

Rebecca Hilton - Dancer

Tim Preston - Dancer

Carl Vine - Performer

Atif Abazov - Actor

William Abernathy - Producer

Judith Adcock - Dancer

Rafael Alcolea - Singer

Gaye Anderson - Actor

Inge Apelt - Actor

Geoffrey Atherden - Director, Writer

Helmut Bakaitis - Actor

Jennifer Barry - Dancer

Timothy Beal - Actor

Harry Belafonte - Composer

John Bell - Actor

Keith Birney - Actor

Joan Brassil - Performer

Bertolt Brecht - Playwright

Colin Bright - Composer

Miljenko Brlečić - Actor

Clifford Brown - Composer

Ratko Buljan - Actor

Neville Burns - Dancer

Alexander Buzo - Playwright

John Cameron - Director

Will Camps - Actor

Peter Carroll - Actor

Tony Challita - Flautist

Kristina Child - Actor

Kathy Coghill - Dancer

Patrick Connolly - Actor

Reg Coote - Musical Arranger

Martyn Corbett - Actor

Winifred Crogan - Set Designer

Don Crombie - Assistant Producer, Lighting Designer

Bobbie Cundell - Costume Designer, Dancer

Darko Ćurdo - Actor

Antonija Ćutić - Actor

Elizabeth Dalman - Dancer, Artistic Director, Choreographer

Michael Day - Set Designer

Dorothy de Guise - Actor

Janet Dearness - Actor

Shelagh Delaney - Playwright

James Dellit - Actor

Elizabeth Dempster - Performer, Choreographer

Grant Dodwell - Actor

John Doyle - Actor

Euripides - Playwright

Val Falloon - Actor

Judith Firth - Associate Producer, Costume Designer

Michael Freundt - Actor

Rosemary Fry - Actor

Sally Gardner - Dancer

John Garland - Actor

Clovice Ghuntous - Violinist

Colin Gibson - Stage Manager

Veronica Gillmer - Dancer

Jose Giraldo - Guitarist

Ray Godden - Actor

Tone Gogala - Actor

Michael Goodwin - Musical Director

Roberta Grant - Actor

John Gray - Actor

Vivien Grayson - Actor

Joan Grounds - Performer

Eddy Hackenberg - Stage Manager, Lighting Operator

Jennifer Hagan - Actor

Joan Halliday - Director

Rohesia Hamilton-Metcalfe - Lighting Designer

Suzanne Hancock - Dancer

George Frideric Handel - Composer

Julieanne Hansen - Dancer

Eve Hardwick - Actor

Liz Harris - Director

Martin Harris - Actor

Gabriel Heredia - Director, Dancer, Choreographer

Paul Herlinger - Actor

Daniel Hodson - Performer

Patricia Jensen - Performer

Dinka Jeričević - Designer

Stephen Jones - Performer

Dušan Jovanović - Playwright

Drazen Karapandza - Actor

Christine Keith - Dancer

Amelia Kerr - Actor

Edie Keuzer - Performer

Karen Kirkhoven - Choreographer

Kuniko Kisanuki - Dancer, Choreographer

Sue-Ellen Kohler - Dancer

Nada Kokotovic - Assistant Director

Igor Kovaceciv - Actor

Damir Kruhak - Sound Designer, Lighting Designer

John Krummel - Actor

Eileen Larkin - Costume Designer

Dragoljub Lazarov - Actor

Kath Leahy - Actor

Freda Lesslie - Actor

Kathy Lette - Playwright

Lesley Lindsay - Actor

Charles Little - Actor

Peter Lucas - Performer

James Lugton - Actor

Mungo B MacCallum - Writer, Director

Joe MacColum - Producer

Lesley Mackay - Actor

Helen Madgwick - Actor

Geoff Malloon - Actor

Chris Mann - Performer

Ned Manning - Actor

Lex Marinos - Director

Perica Martinović - Actor

Dominique May - Actor

Melissa McCoy - Actor

Mary McGrath - Actor

Malcolm McLeod - Designer

Shaun McLeod - Dancer

Gillian Millard - Dancer

Arthur Miller - Playwright

Ali Mohammed - Violinist

Meaghan Morris - Performer

Stephen Morrow - Tour Manager

Helen Morse - Actor

Branko Novkovic - Actor

Carol Nuttall - Costume Assistant

Michael Ondaatje - Playwright

Kath Parker - Stage Manager

Harry Partch - Composer

Glenn Perry - Writer

Narayan Pett - Tour Manager

Eleo Pomare - Choreographer, Costume Designer

Bisnja Postic - Costume Designer

Ivan Potas - Stage Manager

Tony Preece - Actor, Choreographer

Jennifer Preston - Dancer

Sian Pugh - Production Manager, Costume Co-ordinator

Iva Puhalo - Actor

Tina Puhalo - Actor

Vladimir Puhalo - Actor

Patricia Quin - Musical Director

James Quinn - Actor

Francois Rabbath - Composer

Ron Reid - Designer

Ljubisa Ristic - Director

Jack Ritchie - Set Designer

Kevin Roberts - Production Manager

Martial Rose - Adaptor

Peter Rowley - Actor

Mile Rupčić - Actor

Sonia Rutman - Stage Manager

Hugh Ryvers-Ellicott - Sound Designer, Lighting Designer

Bill Scarlett - Composer

Peter Sculthorpe - Composer

Rade Šerbedžija - Actor

Peter Serrano - Actor

William Shakespeare - Playwright

Jim Sharman - Lighting Designer, Director

Hugo Shaw - Costume Designer

Warwick Shillito - Dancer

Maria Shipley - Actor

Bessie Smith - Composer

Sasa Stanojevic - Actor

Graham Stewart - Set Designer

Sandra Stockley - Director

Jean Stuart - Director

Branko Supek - Actor

Ian Tasker - Director

Leonard Teale - Director, Actor

Bert Terborgh - Dancer

Anthony Thurbon - Actor

Christina Totos - Actor

Jaques van Eijden - Dancer

Sandor Veress - Composer

John Warnock - Actor

Peter Weir - Actor, Writer

Elizabeth West - Actor

Jane Westbrook - Director

Michael White - Actor

Peter Whitford - Actor

Joan Winchester - Actor

Robert Zubcsak - Guitarist

Venue Identifier 3555